A Florist’s Wedding

Today I’m sharing my wedding with you!  The day I got to marry the man of my dreams.  I know this will sound cliche….. but my wedding was the best day.  Ever.

As someone who has worked in the wedding business since I was 17 , getting married definitely brought a new perspective to my job as an event florist.  So often I hear, “wedding planning is so much work” or “wedding planning is so stressful,”  but after planning our event I couldn’t disagree more!  Kevin proposed on June 21st and we immediately set a date for October 25th.  This left me 4 months to plan my dream wedding.  While I did put a lot of thought, time, and love into my wedding, I cannot take credit for the beautiful and perfect day it was.  My vendors were amazing!

I created a Pinterest board of photos that reflected my style and shared those with everyone helping with the wedding.  As a florist I wanted my flowers to be perfect!  Knowing how much time designing flowers takes, I was honored to have Nicole French from Petal Talk in Sandpoint, Idaho (my former boss, mentor, and dear friend) offer to design our personal flowers.  The whole team at Petal Talk is incredibly talented and are some of my best friends.  Nicole, Kim, Karen, Jaye, and Sumer took my basic list of arrangements we needed and created florals that were beyond what I could have ever dreamed.  Petal Talk added so many arrangements to the church and reception, making the room come alive.  It was perfect.

Having worked as a wedding florist in this area I have developed many friendships with other vendors.  The morning of my wedding was such a special time- not only with my bridesmaids, but with each artist that arrived to the house.  Carrie Gridley of CG Salon did my hair.  I don’t remember giving her any guidelines except “loose, romantic undo.”  I loved what she did!  Evelyn Mauro of Makeup by Evelyn Mauro knew exactly what I would like and made me look and feel elegant and beautiful.  I am so happy I get to call each of these women my friend.

Anna Peter, our amazing photographer, and her friend and assistant for the day, Conner Allen, added humor to our day.  Taking pictures was one of my favorite parts of the day.   Seriously- so much fun!  You will see their work below and be impressed.  Anna is so talented behind the lens!!

Finally, my family stepped in and did so much work to transform our reception space into a gorgeous venue.  We had a large wedding and the short engagement….. so we chose to host the reception at the fairgrounds.  Not exactly the dream location I had pictured!   Abby Onstott, a friend and stylist in the town I grew up in came with her sister and literally transformed the place.  Along with her hard work and the beautiful rentals and farm tables from Alisa Lewis Event Design and The Attic, our space was one of the most beautiful I could have chosen.

We get a lot of comments regarding the food and desserts at our wedding.  Again, I had nothing to do with this!!  My mom planned the menu of pulled chicken, beef, and pork, a couple salads and appetizers that were incredible.  Jayna Brown, of Stella’s restaurant in Ronan, Montana, along with my family, prepared the amazing meal.  You might think it sounds simple, but it was delicious and so worth it!!

Our desserts were also FANTASTIC.  If you don’t know me personally, I love cake (and dessert in general).  My cousin Tiffany baked all of our desserts.  We had 3 different types of baked-from-scratch cakes, 2 flavors of cheesecake, desserts in adorable jars, cookies and more…. a dessert bar to be jealous of.  Along with that I made salted caramels that were set on each table.  I like to think that our guests were completely spoiled 🙂

 

One final thought:  Trust your vendors and delegate.  Appreciate the style and flair of the people who are adding to your day- you will not regret it!!

Enough Talk…. Lets get to the pictures!!

 

 

 

E+K-10080E+K-10086E+K-10091E+K-10098E+K-10109E+K-10144E+K-10164E+K-10234E+K-10238E+K-10256E+K-10262

E+K-10386

My “something borrowed and something old” Great Grandma’s handkerchief

E+K-10410E+K-10476E+K-10482E+K-10666E+K-10686E+K-10696E+K-10159E+K-10742E+K-10667E+K-10674E+K-10069E+K-10226E+K-10251

E+K-10283

Yes, the bride is pinning on boutonnieres. Always a florist!

E+K-10291

Photography – Anna Peters Photography | Ceremony Venue – St. Thomas the Apostle Catholic Church | Reception Venue – Kootenai County Fairgrounds | Floral – Petal Talk | Rentals – The Attic Vintage Rentals | Ceremony Musicians – Robert Carr | Hair Stylist – CG Salon | Makeup Artist – Makeup by Evelyn Mauro | Nails – Pedi and Polish | Gown – Francine by Sottero and Midgley from Celestial Selections | Veil – Celestial Selections | Bride’s Shoes – DSW | Groom’s Suit and Tie – Men’s Wearhouse

2 thoughts on “A Florist’s Wedding

  1. Tall Order Catering

    Thanks for sharing your own experience! I love floral arrangements. It is subtle, yet striking. Good taste on going with lighter colors. Let me know if you have any other wedding examples.
    Where were you trained?

    Reply

Comment

